Skip to main content
Congrats to Billy Porter on Receiving the Isabelle Stevenson Award at the 2024 Tony Awards Last Night!

The mission of the Roybal Film and Television Magnet is to build a more inclusive pipeline of historically underrepresented, college and career ready students interested in the film and television industries.

Major stars, studios pledge support for LA’s Roybal Film and Television Production Magnet School.

In June 2021, George Clooney, Grant Heslov, and Bryan Lourd partnered with the Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) to establish The Roybal Film and Television Magnet, located on the Edward G. Roybal Learning Complex in downtown LA, to launch in the summer of 2022. The school’s mission is to build a more inclusive pipeline of historically underrepresented, college and career ready students interested in the film and television industries. Over the next five years, we expect to impact nearly 500 students.

Production Designer Wynn Thomas speaks with students on campus

Makeup Artist Howard Berger with a student on campus


Roybal Film and Television Magnet offers students early exposure to career pathways, an immersive 9-12th grade curriculum that develops both hard and soft skills, professional internships, a foundational knowledge base about the industry, and certifications that are essential to securing jobs after graduation.

Kerry Washington visits Roybal to meet students, teachers, and faculty.

Interested in enrolling in the Roybal Film and TV Magnet? Learn more & apply here.

Our Advisory Board

Nicole Avant
Producer, Former US Ambassador to the Bahamas

Tim Bevan
Co-Chairman of Working Title Films

Paul Buccieri President & Chairman, A&E Networks Group







Don Cheadle Actor, Producer, Activist

George Clooney Actor, Director, Producer

Eric Fellner
Co-Chairman of Working Title Films







Jim Gianopulos Former Chairman & CEO of Paramount Pictures

Grant Heslov Producer, Screenwriter, Director

Mindy Kaling Actor, Producer, Director, Author








Eva Longoria
Actor, Producer, Activist

Bryan Lourd
Co-Chairman of Creative Artist Agency

Mike Miller International VP & Department Director, Motion Picture & Television Production, IATSE









Craig Robinson
EVP & Chief Diversity Officer of NBCUniversal

Jeff Rosica CEO & President of AVID Technology, Inc.

Jennifer Salke Head of Amazon Studios








Marva Smalls, Global Head of Inclusion & EVP, Public Affairs, Nickelodeon

Rob Wade CEO FOX Entertainment

Kerry Washington
Actor, Producer, Director, Activist







Our Founding Partners










Supporting Partners




Program Partners







Roybal Industry Council Members: Autumn Durald, Cinematographer; Bobbi Banks, Sound Editor; Brooke Breton, Visual Effects; Danny Gonzalez, Lighting/Grip; Emilio Sosa, Costume Design; Erik Messerschmidt, Cinematographer; Francois Audouy, Production Design; Glenfield Payne, Sound Editor; Howard Berger, Makeup; John Dykstra, Visual Effects; Joi McMillon ACE, Picture Editor; Michael Bauman, Lighting; Michael Tronick, Picture Editor; Peter Devlin,  Production Sound Mixer; Ruth Carter, Costume Design; Salvador Perez, Costume Design; Salvatore Totino, Cinematographer; Sue Chan, Production Design; Vicki Pui, Animation; Wynn Thomas, Production Design; Erin Benach, Costume Design; Robert E. Arnold, Cinematographer; Lyndon Barrois, Animation; Michelle Chung, Makeup; Paul Hook, CAA Agent; Lara Sackett, CAA Agent; Ann Murphy, CAA Agent